Community Profile

The Eastern Metropolitan Regional Council (EMRC) area (map) encompasses the Town of Bassendean, City of Bayswater, City of Belmont, City of Kalamunda, Shire of Mundaring and City of Swan. The area stretches from the edge of the Perth CBD, along the Swan River, and through both residential and industrial areas. It incorporates the Swan Valley’s world class wine district, as well as forests and prime agricultural land in the Darling Ranges.

Home to over 360,000 people from diverse cultural backgrounds and constituting around one-third of the metropolitan area, Perth’s Eastern Region is one of the city’s fastest growing areas. It encompasses about 2,100 square kilometres, including substantial parklands, river foreshore areas, national parks, state forests and water catchments.

The region is a major transport hub, accommodating the international and domestic airports, as well as major roads and rail infrastructure linking Perth to regional centres in Western Australia and to the rest of Australia.

This website contains demographic insights for Perth's Eastern Metropolitan Region. For further information about this diverse community, please contact Eastern Metropolitan Regional Council.

Save this table as a PDF