Community Profile

Moira Shire is located in the Hume region of Victoria and stretches across 4,045 square kilometres from Bundalong in the east to Barmah in the west. Our northern boundary is defined by the Murray River and our south-west, southern and southeast regions share boundaries with the municipalities of Campaspe, Greater Shepparton, Benalla, Wangaratta and Indigo. Moira (map) is centrally located to the regional cities of Shepparton, Wangaratta and Albury-Wodonga.

Moira Shire includes four major towns; Cobram, Nathalia, Numurkah and Yarrawonga and 22 smaller communities: Barmah, Bearii, Bundalong, Burramine, Invergordon, Kaarimba, Katamatite, Katunga, Koonoomoo, Kotupna, Lake Rowan, Peechelba, Picola, St James, Strathmerton, Tungamah, Waaia, Wilby, Wunghnu, Yabba North, Yalca and Yarroweyah.

Moira Shire‘s current population is approximately 29,000 people. Of these 49.8% are male and 50.2% are female. Aboriginal and / or Torres Strait Islander people make up 1.7% of the population. In Moira Shire, 81.7% of people were born in Australia, which is considerably higher than the State and National result. Most Moira Shire residents (87.9%) speak only English at home, with Italian, Arabic and Punjabi the most common non-English languages. The median age of Moira‘s population is 47 years, which is higher than the State and National medians of 37 and 38 years, respectively. Children aged 0 - 14 years make up 17.7% of the population and people aged 65 years and over make up 25.0% of the population.

This website contains demographic insights for Moira Shire. For further information regarding Moira’s diverse community, please contact Moira Shire Council Community Development Unit.

Save this table as a PDF